top of page

Music News For Rock And Metal For The Week Of June 26, 2016!

Check out the featured topics for this week’s music report from the dropdown. See a topic you like? Read on!

  1. Slayer

  2. Aerosmith

  3. Prophets Of Rage

  4. Matt Sorum & Izzy Stradlin

  5. Deathfest

  6. Trivium

  7. Day Of Errors

  8. Soulfest

  9. Of Mice & Men

  10. Scotty Moore

  11. Sabaton

  12. Rage

  13. Frank Hannon

  14. OMP, Sin City Magazine And MBM

  15. Adam Bomb

  16. Ozzy Osbourne


Skillet- Feel Invincible!

Skillet has a new album coming out on August 5, called Unleashed. I think the video is cool and I think the song rocks. I like the message in the song. I can see this song played at sporting events as well. This will be a great song live.



Last week’s Rockucation question: What famous guitarist discovered Alice Cooper and produced their debut album? Who is the guitarist? Answer: Frank Zappa!

Winner/s:  Paula Lariviere, North Providence, RI. Rob Gomez, Sinton, TX and Dustin Lariviere, North Attleboro, MA

This Week’s Rockucation Question  What do the following albums have in common: Pearl Jam-Vs., Soundgarden-Superunknown, Rage Against The Machine-Evil Empire, Limp Bizkit-Results May Vary, Audioslave-Out Of Exile, and Seether-Isolate And Medicate?

Answer Question Here Think you know this music question? Take a guess by clicking the link above! If you answer it correctly, your name will be featured in next week’s Rockucation section.


Music News

Slayer Slayer released a new video this week for a song called You Against You. The song is the prequel to their previous release, Repentless. It stars Jason Trost again, telling the story of how tragic imprisonment was though he didn’t commit the crime. Watch it here.

Aerosmith Steven Tyler has released the title track of his new country album coming out on July 15. The song and the album title is We’re All Somebody From Somewhere. You can listen to it here.


In other Aerosmith news, Joe Perry says it may not be the end of the band as Steven Tyler has claimed. If they do the farewell tour, it may take more than 2 years and the band still wants to play. Once again both camps are opposing each other, fueling rumors of Aerosmith parting with Tyler again.

Prophets Of Rage

Supergroup Prophets Of Rage released a live video for their song, Killing In The Name. They are in the studio recording their debut album. The band plans on touring North America in August. Check out the video here.

Matt Sorum & Izzy Stradlin

Matt Sorum and Izzy Stradlin, both formerly of Guns And Roses, have united to record a song called F.P. Money, that will be out later this July.


Deathfest has announced its line ups for Oakland, CA; Tilburg, Netherlands; and Baltimore, MD. Get the details here.


Trivium released a live video for their song Dead And Gone from their latest album, Silence In The Snow. Check it out here.

Day Of Errors Day Of Errors, the new group by former Black Sabbath drummer Bill Ward, have been recorded playing The Whiskey A Go Go in West Hollywood, CA, at the club’s Ultimate Jam night. No further news on their debut album. You can view the performance here.


Soulfest announced its lineups and have released the trailer for it. You can check it out here.

Of Mice & Men Of Mice & Men released a new song for their up and coming album, Cold World, out on September 9. The song is called Pain. Check it out here.

Scotty Moore

In sad news this week, Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley’s guitar player, passed this week at the age 84. No cause of death was given. But he is a true legend and a player who helped what rock and roll is today. RIP, Scotty!


Sabaton released a trailer for their new album, The Last Stand, due out on August 19. Watch the trailer here.


Rage released a new song this week called War, from their current album, The Devil Strikes Again. Check it out here.

Frank Hannon

Frank Hannon of Tesla released a single this week called Never Slowin’ Down. You can check it out his intro about it and the video here.

OMP, Sin City Magazine And MBM

Online Metal Promo, Sin City Magazine and Metal Babe Mayhem are offering a FREE online digital music compilation download titled “Welcome to Sin City Vol. 1” featuring 26 songs from the hottest hard rock / heavy metal bands currently on the scene. After all you can’t beat free, check it out here.

Adam Bomb

Adam Bomb released a single this week called Stranded. No word on an album or anything else. You can check it out here.

Ozzy Osbourne

Ozzy Osbourne says that Black Sabbath is saying farewell, not him. Plan on seeing him again after The End tour is over.


SRR Quick Hits

Aerosmith’s drummer, Joey Kramer, opened his first coffee shop, called Rockin’ & Roastin’ Cafe in North Attleboro, MA, on July 1.

Please drop me a line if there is a band you think I should cover or topics you would like to be discussed. You can send the info here

If you want to advertise on the site, please reach out to the above email and we can discuss options.

If you enjoy what you have read, please do all or any of the following: subscribe, like the page on Facebook, and/or followed on Twitter. I would also ask that you share this with others in your network, to help spread the word about the SRR. Thanks in advance for your support!

0 views0 comments
bottom of page