top of page

Music News For The Week Of August 17, 2014!

They’re back! Yes, Nickelback has a new single. Edge Of The Revolution is their latest. No new album date, no album title, just this single. Interesting, that a Canadian band is singing a rebellious song from the perspective of Americans! Check it out here:

John Mellencamp has just released a new single from his up and coming album, Plain Spoken, out on September 23rd. This is Troubled Man, you can listen to it here:

Lacuna Coil released a track from their latest album, Broken Crown Halo. This is Nothing Stands In Our Way. They probably should have named it “We Fear Nothing,” it would be better. But you can watch it here:

Super group Flying Colors has a release date set for the second album, Second Nature. That date is 9/29. This is a new song off that album called Mask Machine. You can watch it here:

Buckcherry released a video from their EP Fuck. It’s called Say Fuck It. You can watch it here:

Bush will be releasing a new album called Man On The Run on October 21. You can pre-order it and get some cool stuff with their pledgemusic account. Check it out here:

Joe Perry announced a book signing tour for his new autobiography, Rocks My Life In And Out Of Aerosmith. The dates are as follows;

  1. October 07 – Barnes & Noble – Union Square, New York, NY

  2. October 09 – Brookline Booksmith – Coolidge Corner Theatre, Brookline, MA

  3. October 13 – Anderson’s Bookshop – The Standard Club, Chicago IL

  4. October 15 – Barnes & Noble – The Grove, Farmers Market, Los Angeles, CA

Speaking of Aerosmith, they will continue on their dates without Joey Kramer. But Joey’s son Jesse is filling in. How cool is that?

Korn has released another song from their latest album, The Paradigm Shift. Here is Hater:

Texas Hippie Coalition have released a new lyric video for their song, Monster In Me. It will be on their soon to be released album, Ride On, which comes out on October 7th. Watch it here:

In case you didn’t hear about it or missed, the Sin City: A Dame To Kill For soundtrack has a song by Robert Rodriguez that features Steven Tyler and that song is Skin City and you can listen to it here:

Your PSA this week is Steven Tyler also released a duet with Smokey Robinson, and it is horrible. You know about it now and if you want to torture yourself, you can find it on your own. You have been warned.

Slash has released a teaser sample of his song, 30 Years To Life, off of his World On Fire album, that comes out September 16. You can sample it here:

Vintage Trouble released a trailer called Summer Trouble 2014, which is pretty cool. You can watch it here:

Last week’s Rockucation question was Tom Morello and Chris Cornell were in a super group together, what was the band name? This weeks answer comes from David Englund, from Warwick, RI. The answer is Audioslave.

Just a side note, after I posted the answer to the previous week’s question,  I received a ton of responses that they knew it was Tom Petty, that it was easy and thought someone else got it. I will tell you, if you know it always answer it no matter what. This is your second PSA this week.

SIXX A.M. singer James Michael talks about and gives you a sample of their new song, Stars, from their new album Modern Vintage out on October 7th. Watch it here: or you can just listen to the song here:

Jackson Browne will also be releasing an album on October 7th, called Standing In The Breach.

Whitesnake announced their new guitarist, Joel Hoekstra. You can learn more about him here: Hoekstra was in Night Ranger and now Night Ranger will be looking for a guitarist. Just a heads up!

Foo Fighters have released a trailer for their HBO series, Sonic Highways. It airs on October 17. You can watch it here:

Breaking Benjamin is back and founder and frontman Ben Burnley is the only original member. He has reformed the band. You can watch a new video but there is no new album or tour announced as of yet. But you can check out the news here:

The new Kings Of Chaos lineup for the tour of South African is, Steven Tyler (Aerosmith), Robin Zander (Cheap Trick), Nuno Bettencourt (Extreme), Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top), and former Guns And Roses stars, Duff McKagan, Gilby Clarke and Matt Sorum. They start in November.

Dream Theater will be releasing a CD/DVD set called Live From The Boston Opera House. It comes out September 30th and you can pre-order it and watch the video for the Looking Glass here:

Robert Plant released a second video for his album out on September 9th. Lullaby And ….Ant The Ceaseless Roar. You can see it here:

Any thoughts on bands to have to pay to be in the Super Bowl halftime show? Not sure any money is worth that because you know the NFL is going to want huge money for it. As it is, they pretty much get everything for free in the host city now and make most of the money. I say don’t pay to play and see what happens to the coveted halftime show if no one performs.

Alice Cooper’s new guitarist, Nita Strauss, has a new website. You can check it out here:

Genesis is going to be releasing a 3 disc set called R-Kive on September 29. It will feature classic tracks by the band and solo material.

Billy Idol is releasing a new album in October and has released tour dates for it. You can get them here:

This week’s Rockucation question is: Name the song and the band that these lyrics come from.

All I ask for when I pray, Steady rollin’ woman gonna come my way.

Need a woman, gonna hold my hand, won’t tell me no lies, make me a happy man.

Please help grow the following of this site, after all, you don’t want to keep all this good stuff to yourself! You can also look to the right of the page and click there.

  1. Facebook (please like the page):

  2. Google+:

  3. Twitter (please follow):

0 views0 comments
bottom of page